Can I file a Florida wrongful death claim any time after the death of my loved one?
You do have the right to file a wrongful death claim after the death of a loved one in the state of Florida; however, there is a specific time period in which to file that claim. It’s called what’s called a statute of limitations or basically a fancy way of saying a time limit on the amount of time that you have to file that claim. For wrongful death cases specifically the limit is 2 years.
From the date of the accident, typically what we look at, which resulted in this person’s death for 2 years you have the right to file a claim. After that time period you will be barred from your claim. That’s why it’s always important to hire an experienced personal injury attorney early on in the process so they can have plenty of time to research the claim, investigate it, and put your best foot forward to give you the best chance for justice and the best chance for the ultimate recovery.